Council 14 May 2024

Present:

Councillor Debbie Armiger, Councillor Biff Bean, Councillor Alan Briggs, Councillor James Brown, Councillor Chris Burke, Councillor Sue Burke, Councillor Bob Bushell, Councillor Liz Bushell,

Councillor Natasha Chapman,

Councillor Martin Christopher, Councillor Annie Currier, Councillor Laura Danese, Councillor Thomas Dyer,

Councillor Gary Hewson,

Councillor Rebecca Longbottom, Councillor Bill Mara, Councillor Adrianna McNulty, Councillor Neil Murray,

Councillor Donald Nannestad,

Councillor Lucinda Preston, Councillor Anita Pritchard, Councillor Clare Smalley, Councillor Callum Roper, Councillor Hilton Spratt, Councillor Rachel Storer, Councillor Dylan Stothard, Councillor Naomi Tweddle, Councillor Pat Vaughan, Councillor Calum Watt, Councillor Joshua Wells and Councillor Emily Wood

Apologies for Absence: Councillor Aiden Wells and Councillor Loraine Woolley

1. <u>Election of Mayor</u>

On the nomination of Councillor Thomas Dyer and seconded by Councillor Hilton Spratt it was:

RESOLVED that Councillor Alan Briggs be elected as Mayor of the City of Lincoln for the ensuing municipal year. Councillor Alan Briggs made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Oath of Allegiance. The newly elected Mayor then returned his thanks for his appointment.

(The Mayor [Councillor Alan Briggs] took the Chair)

2. Appointment of City Sheriff

It was moved by Councillor Rachel Storer, seconded by Councillor Donald Nannestad and:

RESOLVED that Brian Harding be appointed Sheriff of the City of Lincoln for the ensuring municipal year. The newly appointed Sheriff made and subscribed the Declaration of Office, took the Oath of Allegiance and returned thanks for his appointment.

3. Election of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED that Councillor Bill Mara be elected as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

4. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Calum Watt, seconded by Councillor Joshua Wells and:

RESOLVED that thanks of the Council be accorded to the retiring Mayor for the manner in which he discharged his duties during his period of office.

The retiring Mayor returned thanks.

5. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Sherrif

It was moved by Councillor Chris Burke, seconded by Councillor Sue Burke and:

RESOLVED that the thanks of the Council be accorded to the retiring Sheriff for the manner in which he discharged his duties during his period of office.

The retiring Sheriff returned thanks.

6. <u>To Receive Notification of the Appointment of the Mayor's Chaplain</u>

It was noted that Reverend Steve Holt of Holy Cross Church had been appointed by the Mayor as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing municipal year.

7. Appointment to Committees, Outside Bodies and Advocacy Roles

It was moved, seconded and:

RESOLVED

- (1) That Councillor Naomi Tweddle be elected as Leader of the Council.
- (2) That the appointments to the Executive, as set out in Appendix A, be noted.
- (3) That the appointments to Committees, Sub-Committees, Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and Advocate Roles, as set out in Appendix A, be approved.
- (4) That the appointments to Outside Bodies, as detailed in Appendix B, be approved.

8. Calendar of Meetings for 2024/25

It was moved, seconded and:

RESOLVED that the Calendar of Meetings for 2024/25 be confirmed.